Home · Articles · Food & Drink · Food Reviews & Stories
 

Pizzeria Otto: Floppy Disc

Wood-fired pizza ain’t easy. Roseway’s new Pizzeria Otto gets it wrong.


Food Reviews & Stories
Oak, folks! Fuel of the future! Now’s the time! Oak’s where you want your money! Crazy? Like a fox. The electric oven is on its way out. In the last year, at least five new wood-fired pizz   More
 
Wednesday, December 17, 2014 MARTIN CIZMAR

Bamboo Izakaya: Cod is Great

Bamboo Izakaya is a weird take on Japanese, but the fish is divine.


Food Reviews & Stories
Done right, the Japanese izakaya is a party that makes you forget the indignities of the 14-hour workday with a barrage of bold flavors and bolder liquor. Portland is drunk with them lately, fro   More
 
Wednesday, December 10, 2014 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Earl Blumenauer’s Fruitcake Ice Cream (Salt & Straw)


Food Reviews & Stories
Every year, bow-tied U.S. Congressman Earl Blumenauer sends fruitcake to friends, family and favored local news outlets. This year, there was a twist. Local ice-cream monolith Salt & Straw m   More
 
Wednesday, December 10, 2014 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Hot Plates: Our Favorite Portland Restaurants This Week


Food Reviews & Stories
A list of the five spots we're excited about right now—maybe taquerias we've loved forever, maybe seafood spots with special menus this week. It's designed to answer that age-old question: Where should we go out to dinner tonight?
   More
 
Tuesday, December 9, 2014 WW Culture Staff

Buzz List: Where We’re Drinking 
This Week


Food Reviews & Stories
Our pick for the top brewpub, dive bar or wine lounge might change by the time you've finished reading this. But here are the spots, new and old, that we're most excited about right now.   More
 
Tuesday, December 9, 2014 WW Culture Staff

Go Fish

A meat eater dives deep into Davy Jones’ Locker.


Food Reviews & Stories
This fall, I idiotically pledged to become a fish eater for 31 days. No good reason. I like seafood, I thought, so how hard could it be? But once you’ve told anyone about a resolution—wh   More
 
Wednesday, December 3, 2014 MICHAEL C. ZUSMAN

#BadBrunches Be Like

Basic brunches do selfies with berry basil muffins, not Smallwares.


Food Reviews & Stories
The brunchlash is here. A few years after the pecancake displaced the vodkatini at the center of young bougiehood, the haters have come out to do what haters do. In August, the world got a boo   More
 
Wednesday, December 3, 2014 MARTIN CIZMAR

Zaatar: Double Generous

Tony Karam is back with an excellent new Lebanese place in the Pearl.


Food Reviews & Stories
The last crumbs of the appetizers have been cleared, and the salad plates are stacked with the pita basket atop. There are no unused glasses. Still, there’s no empty space on the table when th   More
 
Wednesday, November 26, 2014 MARTIN CIZMAR

Beaverton Sub Station


Food Reviews & Stories
Beaverton Sub Station isn’t much of a secret, judging by the noontime line, which runs out to the street. The back wall is covered in newspaper clippings, including an Oregonian column by Stev   More
 
Wednesday, November 12, 2014 MARTIN CIZMAR

Chongqing Hot Pot


Food Reviews & Stories
It’s downright heartening when a restaurant is willing to hand you your own ass in a stainless-steel bowl. In keeping with its eponymous pepper-bathed region of China, soup spot Chongqing Huo    More
 
Wednesday, November 12, 2014 MATTHEW KORFHAGE
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close