Home · Articles · Food & Drink · Food Reviews & Stories
 

Salt & Straw

A frosty reception.


Food Reviews & Stories
But what do the children eat? “Oh, they like the vanilla,” answers the knit-capped woman behind the counter at Salt & Straw. This is suspicious. As a child, I remember screaming for bubble   More
 
Wednesday, May 9, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR

Mekong Bistro

Oregon's only Cambodian restaurant returns.


Food Reviews & Stories
When Good Call Sports Bar & Grill was evicted from its Hazelwood home at the end of December—the landlord lost the property—Portlanders lost not only a friendly place to watch the game b   More
 
Wednesday, May 9, 2012 BEN WATERHOUSE

Requiem for a View

Amadeus Manor has the best view in town


Food Reviews & Stories
People have stopped looking up in restaurants. We’re so busy Instagramming our plates, or poring over our meal’s backstory, that a great view seems superfluous. People now chat excitedly about   More
 
Wednesday, May 2, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR

Chicken Strip Club

Two medical-marijuana rappers are making their chicken and waffles into the best soul food on MLK.


Food Reviews & Stories
Waffles are arguably the least interesting of J. Mack’s projects. Born James McClendon in 1967...   More
 
Wednesday, April 25, 2012 AARON MESH

The Garbanzo Gauntlet

Cedo's makes the best falafel in town.


Food Reviews & Stories
“We felt sorry for Portlanders because they don’t have good falafel,” says the tall, trim man with a smile. “So we had to come here.” That’s Sam Hazza, a Palestine native who moved   More
 
Wednesday, April 18, 2012 KELLY CLARKE

Bull In a China Shop

Who pays $22 for Yin-Yang Shrimp?


Food Reviews & Stories
A dish called Dragonwell Lionhead summons imagery straight outta Game of Thrones: writhing lizards hatching from the skulls of your enemies doused in Sriracha—or something like that. Part of the   More
 
Wednesday, April 11, 2012 AARON MESH

There’s a Bowl For That

Boke Bowl is a polished, pragmatic take on ramen.


Food Reviews & Stories
With its clean lines, design-conscious self-branding and techy iconography, Boke Bowl’s interior looks more than anything like an Apple store.   More
 
Wednesday, April 4, 2012 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Fizz Without Buzz


Food Reviews & Stories
If I wanted to get rich and famous in Portland, I’d open an old-timey soda fountain. I’d call it Dr. Pickwick’s Tonics & Elixirs. I’d fill it with vintage pharmacy bottles and old pa   More
 
Wednesday, March 28, 2012 RUTH BROWN

Warm and Koozie

Smokehouse 21 isn't Podnah's. But the pork is great.


Food Reviews & Stories
The koozies are genius. There’s something inexplicably decadent and wonderful about a restaurant offering a cushy foam barrier to keep your beer cold and your hand warm. Sipping $2 cans of PBR f   More
 
Wednesday, March 28, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR

Mi Mero Mole

Nick Zukin is your new Mexican grandmother.


Food Reviews & Stories
The aroma inside Mi Mero Mole is like entering the kitchen of a Mexican grandmother—a heavenly blend of freshly made corn tortillas and simmering spices. She would insist you stay for dinner and   More
 
Wednesday, March 14, 2012 PENELOPE BASS
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close