Home · Articles · Food & Drink · Food Reviews & Stories
 

Om Nom Nom. Ugh.

A field guide to food bloggers.


Food Reviews & Stories
Portland’s food blogosphere is mercifully small. In bigger cities, thousands of self-proclaimed “foodies” wield an unhealthy amount of power over the culinary economy, tending to cutely titl   More
 
Wednesday, August 22, 2012 RUTH BROWN

Jerk-Off

Me want dried meat. What brand best


Food Reviews & Stories
Beef jerky is a primal pleasure. Drying meat for storage was practical for cave dwellers, of course, but we keep making it in an era of refrigerators because there’s something satisfying about g   More
 
Wednesday, August 15, 2012 MICHAEL C. ZUSMAN

Carpaccio Trattoria

Can Carpaccio break its building's curse?


Food Reviews & Stories
The ugly brick building at the corner of Northeast Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard and Fremont Street has not been kind to its ground-floor tenants. The first occupant, Terroir, shuttered after j   More
 
Wednesday, August 8, 2012 BEN WATERHOUSE

Scoops’ Out for Summer

We ate 31 frozen confections in 31 days. Time to digest.


Food Reviews & Stories
We wanted to eat at a different ice cream shop every day in July. This idea was conceived in the middle of winter, when the logistics of trudging...   More
 
Wednesday, August 1, 2012 WW Culture Staff

Cod Save The Queen

Giving the gold to Portland’s best fish and chips.


Food Reviews & Stories
It’s tough to get behind Team USA at this year’s Olympics. It’s bad enough that both LeBron James and Mitt Romney’s dancing horse are representing our country in London, but now American c   More
 
Wednesday, July 25, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR

Biggie Small

Ready to dine: The hypnotic charms of the notorious Smallwares.


Food Reviews & Stories
Portlanders are obsessed with authenticity, especially when it comes to Asian food. We’ll huddle for an hour outside a tarp-sided shanty, poring over a menu and sprinkling pompous little annot   More
 
Wednesday, July 18, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR

A Very Stout Ox

Ox is more than a steakhouse with a sexy spanish accent.


Food Reviews & Stories
The chef looks pissed. Gabrielle Quiñónez Denton has her hands on her hips in the narrow walkway leading from Ox’s enclosed main kitchen to the restaurant’s 50-seat dining room. Sweat trickl   More
 
Wednesday, July 11, 2012 MICHAEL C. ZUSMAN

Vanillas in the Mist

Finding the best local grocery-store ice cream.


Food Reviews & Stories
“Vanilla” has become a dirty word. It’s now synonymous with bland and uninspired, but the ancient Totonac people believed the vanilla plant sprang from the spilled blood of a beautiful princ   More
 
Wednesday, July 4, 2012 RUTH BROWN

All Night Long

It’s 4 am, do you know where your sandwich is?


Food Reviews & Stories
We know Portland teenagers are all tucked in bed by the city’s curfew, which is 10:15 pm on school nights and midnight on weekends. But if, hypothetically, they were out late—perhaps coming    More
 
Wednesday, July 4, 2012 WW Culture Staff

Totally Grounded

Put down the Chemex—students need cream, sugar and fast Wi-fi.


Food Reviews & Stories
Heart Coffee at East Burnside and 22nd Avenue knows its product. The baristas could write a book about beans extracted from Kenya and Ethiopia and roasted on site. They can talk for days about t   More
 
Wednesday, July 4, 2012 KIMBERLY HURSH
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close