Home · Articles · Food & Drink · Food Reviews & Stories
 

Donut Byte Labs: Doughnut Review


Food Reviews & Stories
We have met our new mini-doughnut robot overlord, and its name is Donut Byte Labs. Look, I love me some Pip's robot-made mini-doughnuts straight off the boiler—luscious cake    More
 
Wednesday, July 22, 2015 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Mi Piace Troppo: Renata Reviewed

The young Renata has some nice moves and fantastic pasta. But there’s work to do.


Food Reviews & Stories
Lunch plans had to be canceled—Nick Arnerich knew that right away. When Arnerich’s new, wood-fired Italian restaurant, Renata, was chosen as The Oregonian’s favorite new spot in its annual res   More
 
Wednesday, July 15, 2015 MARTIN CIZMAR

Summer Lovin’

The pop-up romance with Lil’ Wares’ General Tso sandwich will be short but intense.


Food Reviews & Stories
Like a new love born at Coachella, Lil’ Wares was never meant to last. Consider it a summer fling, equal parts exciting and doomed. When the quaint Red Fig restaurant closed down this spring on No   More
 
Wednesday, July 8, 2015 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Battered and Fried

Batter Griddle & Drinkery is sloppy drunk food.


Food Reviews & Stories
If Cheech and Chong opened a restaurant honoring their weed-humor heyday, I’m certain it would bear an uncanny resemblance to Batter Griddle & Drinkery. Batter, which opened to much fanfare in M   More
 
Wednesday, July 1, 2015 MICHAEL C. ZUSMAN

Pow to the People

Kung Pow dresses up and gets down with American Chinese.


Food Reviews & Stories
When you see the dragon on that takeout menu, you know what you’re in for. Not to mention the exclamatory name (Kung POW!, a typography our copy editors won’t allow in our paper outside of these p   More
 
Wednesday, June 24, 2015 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Salt & Straw's New Street-Food-Based Ice Creams


Food Reviews & Stories
On paper, it looks wonderful. Ice-cream collaborations from some of our favorite food carts—Nong’s Khao Man Gai, Wolf and Bear’s, Viking Soul Food—available all June as seasonal flavors. Thing   More
 
Wednesday, June 24, 2015 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Premise Accepted

How Coors and Democratic politicians almost killed Oregon beer.


Food Reviews & Stories
Few state laws have shaped Portland’s economy and culture like Senate Bill 813, otherwise known as the Brewpub Bill. The law, which was passed 30 years ago today and signed into law by Vic A   More
 
Wednesday, June 17, 2015 PETE DUNLOP

¿Qué Es Lo Bueno?

Trying every Latin American food cart at Portland Mercado.


Food Reviews & Stories
The new Portland Mercado of Foster-Powell is beautiful, and if you don’t like it, I don’t trust you. The project—begun through assorted nonprofiteering, goodwill-type impulses having to    More
 
Wednesday, June 10, 2015 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

All Piez On Me

You got teeth in your mouth, so P.R.E.A.M. pies gotsta fit.


Food Reviews & Stories
The sad-bastard music had to go. A few years ago, most upscale Portland restaurants—places where people went for some nice cooked food in their nice clean drawers—played Black Keys Pandora   More
 
Wednesday, June 3, 2015 MARTIN CIZMAR

Rebuilding the Bell

It’s getting tough to get Taco Bell in Portland. We asked a Mexican food expert to reverse-engineer our favorite FourthMeals.


Food Reviews & Stories
For FourthMeal fans, these are trying times. Both Taco Bell locations in central Portland are currently closed, with the West Burnside Street Bell apparently being rebuilt and the Northeast    More
 
Wednesday, May 27, 2015 JOHN LOCANTHI
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close