Home · Articles · Music · Album Reviews
 

Album Review: Black Pussy

On Blonde (Made In China Records)


Album Reviews
[STONER ROCK] Everything you need to know about Black Pussy’s debut record can be summed up in the album’s first 10 seconds. The disc opens with the sound of a lighter flicking to life followe   More
 
Wednesday, February 8, 2012 ROBERT HAM

Album Review: Alialujah Choir

Self-Titled (Jealous Butcher)


Album Reviews
[VOCAL POP] Two years ago, I was pretty excited about the Alialujah Choir. A supergroup of sorts featuring Weinland’s Adam Shearer and Alia Farah alongside Norfolk & Western frontman Adam Se   More
 
Wednesday, February 8, 2012 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: The Sentiments

Self-Titled EP (Simmerdown Productions)


Album Reviews
[SKA] People hate what they don’t understand. That would explain why ska—a genre Frankensteined into all sorts of obnoxious incarnations in the mid- to late-’90s “third wave” boom years�   More
 
Wednesday, February 1, 2012 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: The Golden Bears

Write It Like You Find It (Jealous Butcher)


Album Reviews
[POP OUT OF PLACE] In a strange way, the cover of the Golden Bears’ second album resembles that of Fleetwood Mac’s Rumours. Hear me out. Like Rumours, the art for Write It Like You Find It feature   More
 
Wednesday, February 1, 2012 MATTHEW SINGER

Album Review: Wow and Flutter

Double Deuce EP


Album Reviews
[7.5% ABV, 100% ROCK] The arrival of new music by Wow and Flutter is exciting not only for the aural treats on the new Double Deuce EP but also for how the band is releasing it: as a download access   More
 
Wednesday, January 25, 2012 ROBERT HAM

Album Review: Fruition

It Won’t Be Long Ep (Self-Released)


Album Reviews
[ROOTS MUSIC] Pretty tends to eclipse everything around it. And in pop music, that’s generally a good thing. Some of the prettiest music being made today—cough, Bon Iver—doesn’t always hav   More
 
Wednesday, January 18, 2012 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Duo Denim

Heat Rocks Vol. 1 (Self-Released)


Album Reviews
[MINIMAL ELECTRO-FUNK] When you get two musicians as talented as keyboardist Ben Darwish (Commotion, Ben Darwish Trio) and drummer Drew   More
 
Wednesday, December 28, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Lovers

I Was the East (Badman Recordings)


Album Reviews
[EARLY ELECTRO-POP] I’m not sure how big of a market there really is for I Was the East, a compilation of alternate versions and B-sides from Portland-based Lovers’ masterful 2009 record, I Am the   More
 
Wednesday, December 14, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: My Autumn’s Done Come

Paper Flowers (Self-Released)


Album Reviews
[NOT FALL YET] On the song that gave My Autumn’s Done Come its name, country singer Lee Hazlewood croons, “Let those I-don’t-care days begin/ I’m tired of holding my stomach in.” The loc   More
 
Wednesday, December 14, 2011 JONATHAN FROCHTZWAJG

Album Review: Danava

Hemisphere of Shadows (Kemado)


Album Reviews
[METAL] On its self-titled debut album in 2006, local hard-rock band Danava established itself as a formidable power trio with a healthy laser-gloss of analog synth to push its sound into outer    More
 
Wednesday, December 7, 2011 NATHAN CARSON
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close