Home · Articles · Music · Album Reviews
 

Album Review: Danava

Hemisphere of Shadows (Kemado)


Album Reviews
[METAL] On its self-titled debut album in 2006, local hard-rock band Danava established itself as a formidable power trio with a healthy laser-gloss of analog synth to push its sound into outer    More
 
Wednesday, December 7, 2011 NATHAN CARSON

Album Review: Serious Business

Kool (Futro)


Album Reviews
[ELECTRO HIP-HOP BANGERS] Kool, the debut album from Portland duo Serious Business, opens by comparing the group’s music to candy. That metaphor isn’t too far off base. Producer/MC Jason Mam   More
 
Wednesday, December 7, 2011 SHANE DANAHER

Album Review: Laura Veirs

Tumble Bee (Raven Marching Band Records)


Album Reviews
[TWEE FOR TOTS] I love kids, but I hate kids’ music. This is a major reason I don’t intend to have children: I’m just not willing to spend six or seven years of my life listening to Uncle Wo   More
 
Wednesday, November 30, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Jackstraw

Sunday Never Comes (Self-Released)


Album Reviews
[BLUEGRASS] Contemporary pickers have a very real dilemma: They can play strictly traditional bluegrass and run the risk of flying completely under the radar, or they can attempt to modernize the    More
 
Wednesday, November 30, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Fake Hospital

Never Use the Same Door Twice (Self-released)


Album Reviews
[DUNGEON JAZZ] As a member of Million Brazilians, Grant Corum helps listeners and band members alike reach ecstatic heights with a dark, saxophone-laden sound the group calls “dungeon jazz.” F   More
 
Wednesday, November 23, 2011 ROBERT HAM

Album Review: Ancient Heat

Oh...You Bad 12-inch (Self-released)


Album Reviews
[WAIT, DISCO? REALLY?] I am fascinated by disco. And I don’t mean the contemporary electronic dance music that passes itself off as such: I’m talking half-naked, coke-snorting, mirror-ball, blowjo   More
 
Wednesday, November 23, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Poor Boy’s Soul

Burn Down (Self-Released)


Album Reviews
[BLUES PUNK] For a blues musician, Poor Boy’s Soul—the one-man-band project of Portlander Trevor Jones—has a story that’s a PR person’s dream. The young artist learned how to play slide    More
 
Wednesday, November 16, 2011 ROBERT HAM

Album Review: Wild Flag

Wild Flag (Merge)


Album Reviews
[UNDER THE BANNER OF ROCK] In the music video for “Romance,” the lead single on their recently released self-titled debut, the members of Wild Flag play unlikely work buddies who, on their lunch   More
 
Wednesday, November 9, 2011 JONATHAN FROCHTZWAJG

Album Review: Anne

Dream Punx (A389 Records)


Album Reviews
[SHOEGAZE DAZE] Don’t let the title of Anne’s debut album fool you—this Portland quartet’s sad-sack shoegazing is about as punk as Robert Smith’s mansion. But the bait-and-switch perpetrat   More
 
Wednesday, November 9, 2011 CHRIS STAMM

Album Review: Sun Angle

Self-Titled Cassette EP (Self-Released)


Album Reviews
[THREE-WAY] When Charlie Salas-Humara quit his one-man-band-turned-duo, Panther, in 2009, I knew it would only be a matter of time until he returned to the fore of the Portland music scene. And whi   More
 
Wednesday, November 2, 2011 CASEY JARMAN
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close