Home · Articles · Music · Album Reviews
 

Album Review: Duo Denim

Heat Rocks Vol. 1 (Self-Released)


Album Reviews
[MINIMAL ELECTRO-FUNK] When you get two musicians as talented as keyboardist Ben Darwish (Commotion, Ben Darwish Trio) and drummer Drew   More
 
Wednesday, December 28, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Lovers

I Was the East (Badman Recordings)


Album Reviews
[EARLY ELECTRO-POP] I’m not sure how big of a market there really is for I Was the East, a compilation of alternate versions and B-sides from Portland-based Lovers’ masterful 2009 record, I Am the   More
 
Wednesday, December 14, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: My Autumn’s Done Come

Paper Flowers (Self-Released)


Album Reviews
[NOT FALL YET] On the song that gave My Autumn’s Done Come its name, country singer Lee Hazlewood croons, “Let those I-don’t-care days begin/ I’m tired of holding my stomach in.” The loc   More
 
Wednesday, December 14, 2011 JONATHAN FROCHTZWAJG

Album Review: Danava

Hemisphere of Shadows (Kemado)


Album Reviews
[METAL] On its self-titled debut album in 2006, local hard-rock band Danava established itself as a formidable power trio with a healthy laser-gloss of analog synth to push its sound into outer    More
 
Wednesday, December 7, 2011 NATHAN CARSON

Album Review: Serious Business

Kool (Futro)


Album Reviews
[ELECTRO HIP-HOP BANGERS] Kool, the debut album from Portland duo Serious Business, opens by comparing the group’s music to candy. That metaphor isn’t too far off base. Producer/MC Jason Mam   More
 
Wednesday, December 7, 2011 SHANE DANAHER

Album Review: Laura Veirs

Tumble Bee (Raven Marching Band Records)


Album Reviews
[TWEE FOR TOTS] I love kids, but I hate kids’ music. This is a major reason I don’t intend to have children: I’m just not willing to spend six or seven years of my life listening to Uncle Wo   More
 
Wednesday, November 30, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Jackstraw

Sunday Never Comes (Self-Released)


Album Reviews
[BLUEGRASS] Contemporary pickers have a very real dilemma: They can play strictly traditional bluegrass and run the risk of flying completely under the radar, or they can attempt to modernize the    More
 
Wednesday, November 30, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Fake Hospital

Never Use the Same Door Twice (Self-released)


Album Reviews
[DUNGEON JAZZ] As a member of Million Brazilians, Grant Corum helps listeners and band members alike reach ecstatic heights with a dark, saxophone-laden sound the group calls “dungeon jazz.” F   More
 
Wednesday, November 23, 2011 ROBERT HAM

Album Review: Ancient Heat

Oh...You Bad 12-inch (Self-released)


Album Reviews
[WAIT, DISCO? REALLY?] I am fascinated by disco. And I don’t mean the contemporary electronic dance music that passes itself off as such: I’m talking half-naked, coke-snorting, mirror-ball, blowjo   More
 
Wednesday, November 23, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Poor Boy’s Soul

Burn Down (Self-Released)


Album Reviews
[BLUES PUNK] For a blues musician, Poor Boy’s Soul—the one-man-band project of Portlander Trevor Jones—has a story that’s a PR person’s dream. The young artist learned how to play slide    More
 
Wednesday, November 16, 2011 ROBERT HAM
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close