Home · Articles · Food & Drink · Bar Reviews
 

Pink Rose: Every Rose Has Its Thorn


Bar Reviews
“Did anyone talk to you yet?” asks the chestnut-haired bartender after I finally get her attention. No, no one did. Nor would any of the waitstaff address me for almost the entirety of my Sa   More
 
Wednesday, July 25, 2012 ROBERT HAM

The Jack London Bar: Chic Lit


Bar Reviews
After walking through a brightly lit hall of middle-aged men playing pool and watching UFC, it’s vaguely disconcerting to descend a staircase and suddenly find yourself in a dim room full of e   More
 
Wednesday, July 11, 2012 RUTH BROWN

The Modern Man: Out of Sight


Bar Reviews
“Make me look like George Clooney.” It takes some gall to demand that of a barber, but I figure the stylists at Portland barbershop/bar The Modern Man (5018 NE 22nd Ave., 284-6008, themodernma   More
 
Wednesday, July 4, 2012 MATTHEW SINGER

The Crown Room: Chinatown Crown


Bar Reviews
On a recent bass-heavy Thursday night at The Crown Room (205 NW 4th Ave., thecrownroom.net), I was able to mingle freely and bro out with a diverse collection of enthusiastic partygoers—most of    More
 
Wednesday, June 27, 2012 NORA EILEEN JONES

Coalition Brewing: 2 Legit 2 Quit


Bar Reviews
The MC Hammer card is a good omen. Hanging at Coalition Brewing (2724 SE Ankeny St., 894-8080, coalitionbrewing.com), it shows MC at his peak, gold harem pants in full flutter. He is untouchable b   More
 
Wednesday, June 20, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR

Mill Ends Tavern: HTTP 404


Bar Reviews
“Sorry, but you are looking for something that isn’t here” reads the blank website of Mill Ends Tavern (833 SW Naito Parkway, 220-0800), a new downtown watering hole. The statement isn’t far   More
 
Wednesday, June 13, 2012 JOHN LOCANTHI

The Lion’s Eye Tavern: Bullseye


Bar Reviews
No longtime Portlander is surprised to hear there’s great stuff in the outer reaches of Southeast 82nd Avenue. Even so, The Lion’s Eye Tavern (5919 SE 82nd Ave., 774-1468) comes as a bit of a sh   More
 
Wednesday, June 6, 2012 CASEY JARMAN

Gigantic Brewing: Giant’s Lair


Bar Reviews
Unless you work at a powder-coating warehouse or metal fabricator, this industrial stretch of Southeast 26th Avenue is no destination. It’s a peculiar location for cheekily named Gigantic Brewin   More
 
Wednesday, May 30, 2012 REBECCA JACOBSON

Free House: Victory Provisions


Bar Reviews
Under the watchful eyes of Abraham Lincoln in two slightly creepy paintings on the walls of Free House (1325 NE Fremont St., 946-8161), a dozen or so drinkers maintain a vibe of laid-back camaraderi   More
 
Wednesday, May 23, 2012 PENELOPE BASS

Velo Cult: Biker Bar


Bar Reviews
I dunno, man, it’s hard to explain. If you ride, you get it. But if you’ve never shown up to work late and dripping, your teeth tingly from some potholed street, you won’t understand. For    More
 
Wednesday, May 16, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close