Home · Articles · Food & Drink · Bar Reviews
 

Hidden Bay Cafe: And the Tide Was Way Out


Bar Reviews
In the summer months, I understand Hayden Island bars are occasionally hoppin’ with jet skiers and yachtsmen. This time of year, it’s Scooby-Doo on Zombie Island. Island Cafe is closed until A   More
 
Wednesday, December 5, 2012 MITCH LILLIE

Whey Bar: Wheyting Room


Bar Reviews
Waiting is an intrinsic part of Portland life. Drive past either Salt & Straw location, at practically any time of day, in any sort of weather, and there will be a line stretching around the   More
 
Wednesday, November 28, 2012 MATTHEW SINGER

Windows: He Shoots


Bar Reviews
Two words: pork parfait. If the phrase alone isn’t tickling your gag reflex, you’re not thinking about it hard enough. Imagine one of those fast-food, “just throw a bunch of shit into a si   More
 
Wednesday, November 21, 2012 MATTHEW SINGER

The Wurst: Sausage Party


Bar Reviews
The high-def version of Big Buck Hunter looks nothing like the primitive arcade cabinet I remember from the rural America of my younger years. The deer flash vivid terror in their big brown eyes   More
 
Wednesday, November 14, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR

Applebee’s: Jell-O There


Bar Reviews
A bartender at the Lloyd Center Applebee’s (1439 NE Halsey St, 284-8040, applebees.com) has apparently gone rogue. A mysterious bartender—everyone involved denies knowledge—is crafting seemi   More
 
Wednesday, November 7, 2012 MITCH LILLIE

Deli Bar: Bagels and Booze


Bar Reviews
It’s difficult to find a barometer by which to measure Kenny & Zuke’s new deli-bar hybrid, Deli Bar (3901 N Williams Ave., 287-0782). It’s certainly the only deli bar I’ve ever been to.    More
 
Wednesday, October 31, 2012 RUTH BROWN

Alberta Substation: Player Substitution


Bar Reviews
First thing’s first: No, Alberta Substation (2703 NE Alberta St., 284-4491, albertasubstation.com) is not a sandwich shop. Housed in the 80-year-old brown stucco building previously occupied by    More
 
Wednesday, October 24, 2012 MATTHEW SINGER

Island Mana Wines: Aloha Lite


Bar Reviews
When a bar plays lilting ukulele tunes on its website and sets up speakers underneath its sidewalk sandwich board, I expect a full-on luau. I want a flower lei around my neck, the heat cranked up    More
 
Wednesday, October 17, 2012 REBECCA JACOBSON

The Rose: Frickin’ Laser Beams


Bar Reviews
What, exactly, is the Rose? The impressively generic name, covered windows and website that promises only “Portland’s newest nightlife destination” give away very little about the business t   More
 
Wednesday, October 10, 2012 RUTH BROWN

Barwares: Ware It Well


Bar Reviews
Barwares (4605 NE Fremont St., 971-229-0995, smallwarespdx.com) exists only because of an architectural fluke. Chef Johanna Ware’s Asian-leaning restaurant, Smallwares, needs a bar the same si   More
 
Wednesday, October 3, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close