Whose Wish Is This?

Batkid Begins is a super doc, but the reality might not be.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Part One: How I Felt During the Movie I only loosely paid attention to Batkid in November 2013, when he was a social-media phenom and pictures on Twitter showed part of San Francisco shutting down to   More
 
Wednesday, September 2, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

Keep Digging

Chris Messina skinny-dipping is the best part of Joe Swanberg’s improvised mumblecore.


Movie Reviews & Stories
I’ll say two things for Digging for Fire: One, Jake Johnson is charming as fuck. Also: Chris Messina gets naked. Other than that, Digging for Fire is generic mumblecore garbage. Johnson stars as   More
 
Wednesday, August 26, 2015 LIZZY ACKER

The Man From U.N.C.L.E., Reviewed

Guy Ritchie’s spy flick is like Snatch, with super-Nazis.


Movie Reviews & Stories
If you walked out of Mission: Impossible: Rogue Nation and thought, “I can’t wait to see another spy thriller with too much punctuation based on a ’60s TV show,” then fear not. Hollywood is lo   More
 
Wednesday, August 12, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

Cruising Along

Rogue Nation plays it safe. And that’s what saves this ship.


Movie Reviews & Stories
You’ve got lots of choices when it comes to actiony spy movies these days. You’ve got your Jameses Bond, your Jasons Bourne, your Kingsmen, and and and. So why come back to Mission: Impossible, th   More
 
Wednesday, July 29, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

The TriMet Trilogy

Portland filmmaker El Gato Negro wants hipsters to have a heart.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Howard Mitchell is old school. The Portland filmmaker behind the TriMet Trilogy showing at Mission Theater this Sunday cites such deadly earnest (and just plain dead) heavyweights as John Cassavetes,    More
 
Wednesday, July 22, 2015 CHRIS STAMM

Mr. Holmes: Movie Review

In this case, even McKellen isn’t worth the buzz.


Movie Reviews & Stories
There’s a reason we don’t often follow our heroes into the sunset: It’s not that we don’t care what happens to them. It’s just that retirement is pretty boring and aging is depressing.    More
 
Wednesday, July 15, 2015 AP KRYZA

Tangerine: Movie Review

Hollywood filmed by iPhone has a lot of heart.


Movie Reviews & Stories
At first glance, Tangerine resembles a debut film. Shot on an iPhone and featuring two first-timers in the leading roles, Sean Baker’s fifth feature is full of creative decisions that would appear t   More
 
Wednesday, July 15, 2015 MICHAEL NORDINE

The Infinitesimal Sadness

Pixar’s Inside Out will make you laugh and cry. But mostly cry.


Movie Reviews & Stories
I cried at a Corona commercial a couple weeks back, so I’m not a good barometer for this kind of thing, but I wept during Inside Out, the new feature from the nearly flawless Pixar Animation Stu   More
 
Wednesday, June 17, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

Selma: Movie Review

With Selma, Ava DuVernay brings the civil rights movement to vivid life.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Movies about humanity’s failures tend to flatter their audiences. Look at yesterday’s folly, they say, and be proud of our relatively democratic present. Too rare are movies that shine a r   More
 
Wednesday, January 7, 2015 CHRIS STAMM

Keep On Keepin’ On

Too much of a good thing.


Movie Reviews & Stories
There’s nothing inherently bad about a happy film. But there’s nothing inherently good, either. That’s the case with Keep On Keepin’ On, a documentary about jazz trumpeter Clark Terry and hi   More
 
Tuesday, November 18, 2014 JAMES HELMSWORTH

0|1
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close