Just a Reflektor

Arcade Fire’s film doc is a misfire for die-hards.

Movie Reviews & Stories
There’s a giant watermark splashed across the screen of my critic’s copy of The Reflektor Tapes, the new rock documentary from director Kahlil Joseph and Montreal’s Arcade Fire. That’s perfect   More
Wednesday, September 23, 2015 CASEY JARMAN

Johnny Depp in Black Mass

Movie Reviews & Stories
Much like the city’s other exports, Boston’s gangster flicks vary in quality from genre-shattering genius (The Departed, most ’90s bands, the people who invented America) to mind-numbing pantomi   More
Wednesday, September 16, 2015 JAMES HELMSWORTH

A Tale of Two Fishes

Think Cremaster Cycle as a shoestring rock opera.

Movie Reviews & Stories
Rachel Mason, an L.A. multimedia artist, has released 11 albums and successfully shown her sculptures, installations and films in New York, Chicago and Seattle. But she’s just realizing what being a   More
Wednesday, September 16, 2015 NATHAN CARSON

Maze Runner 2: Burnt Out

Another dystopian YA runs its course.

Movie Reviews & Stories
I didn’t see the first Maze Runner movie and I didn’t read the books, but I can guess the plot: The apocalypse happened, only a ragtag group of teenagers can save the world, and some kids fall mad   More
Wednesday, September 16, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

Movie Review: 7 Chinese Brothers

No brothers, no point, but a really cute dog.

Movie Reviews & Stories
It’s the end of the world as we know it every summer in Hollywood. All those Earth-in-the-balance blockbusters eventually leave you totally apathetic about the apocalypse. Because    More
Wednesday, September 9, 2015 CASEY JARMAN

Whose Wish Is This?

Batkid Begins is a super doc, but the reality might not be.

Movie Reviews & Stories
Part One: How I Felt During the Movie I only loosely paid attention to Batkid in November 2013, when he was a social-media phenom and pictures on Twitter showed part of San Francisco shutting down to   More
Wednesday, September 2, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

Keep Digging

Chris Messina skinny-dipping is the best part of Joe Swanberg’s improvised mumblecore.

Movie Reviews & Stories
I’ll say two things for Digging for Fire: One, Jake Johnson is charming as fuck. Also: Chris Messina gets naked. Other than that, Digging for Fire is generic mumblecore garbage. Johnson stars as   More
Wednesday, August 26, 2015 LIZZY ACKER

The Man From U.N.C.L.E., Reviewed

Guy Ritchie’s spy flick is like Snatch, with super-Nazis.

Movie Reviews & Stories
If you walked out of Mission: Impossible: Rogue Nation and thought, “I can’t wait to see another spy thriller with too much punctuation based on a ’60s TV show,” then fear not. Hollywood is lo   More
Wednesday, August 12, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

Cruising Along

Rogue Nation plays it safe. And that’s what saves this ship.

Movie Reviews & Stories
You’ve got lots of choices when it comes to actiony spy movies these days. You’ve got your Jameses Bond, your Jasons Bourne, your Kingsmen, and and and. So why come back to Mission: Impossible, th   More
Wednesday, July 29, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

The TriMet Trilogy

Portland filmmaker El Gato Negro wants hipsters to have a heart.

Movie Reviews & Stories
Howard Mitchell is old school. The Portland filmmaker behind the TriMet Trilogy showing at Mission Theater this Sunday cites such deadly earnest (and just plain dead) heavyweights as John Cassavetes,    More
Wednesday, July 22, 2015 CHRIS STAMM


Web Design for magazines