Movie Review: Do I Sound Gay?

A documentarian tries to straighten his speech.


Movie Reviews & Stories
There is only one thing I look for in a successful documentary: Does it make me feel guilty about an issue I didn’t previously feel guilty about? Blackfish did, obviously, and Hoop Dreams, and all t   More
 
Wednesday, July 22, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

Amy: Movie Review

Don’t even try to keep your eyes dry.


Movie Reviews & Stories
“I don’t think I’m going to be at all famous. I don’t think I could handle it.” Even if you followed Amy Winehouse’s career, it’s hard to keep from crossing your finger   More
 
Wednesday, July 8, 2015 LAUREN TERRY

Life/less: SELF/LESS, Reviewed

Ben Kingsley/Ryan Reynolds goes limp.


Movie Reviews & Stories
When a movie starts with a dumb idea and it’s badly executed, you can’t be that disappointed. It’s not a big waste. But when a great concept gets bungled, it feels like a loss. Like Cookie Crisp   More
 
Wednesday, July 8, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

Robot Reboot: Terminator Genisys, Reviewed

Arnold is the only magnet in this indeterminable replay.


Movie Reviews & Stories
I know you’re really worried about this, so I’m just going to say it up top: Yes, Arnold Schwarzwhatever says “I’ll be back” in this movie. Isn’t that a relief?  We were all sitting   More
 
Tuesday, June 30, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

The Third Man: Movie Review

The shadows are alive in a restored noir classic.


Movie Reviews & Stories
The past 66 years have been kind to Carol Reed’s The Third Man. It’s lauded as one of the finest examples of film noir and one of the greatest cinematic achievements of all time.    More
 
Wednesday, July 1, 2015 AP KRYZA

The Overnight: Swingin’ For The Fences

The Overnight is 98 percent awkward, 2 percent sexy.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Let me try a phrase on you: “The best sex comedy at Sundance.” That’s what Rolling Stone said of The Overnight, and that single plaudit gives you a lot of reasons not to see this movie. Here are   More
 
Wednesday, June 24, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

The Nightmare: Movie Review

Sleep paralysis looks haunting in this new documentary.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Conveying the surreal power of dreams is nearly impossible, whether onscreen or in conversation. They have their own logic, of course, plus inexplicable time and hazy details that are difficul   More
 
Wednesday, June 10, 2015 MICHAEL NORDINE

Clever Girl

A 10-year-old’s advice for surviving Jurassic World.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Yet again Hollywood decided it didn’t need my opinion of a major motion picture, so they screened it after my press deadline. But the man can’t hold me down! Instead of reviewing Jurassic Wo   More
 
Wednesday, June 10, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

Bro Say Can You See

Four douchebags make a movie about four douchebags making a movie.


Movie Reviews & Stories
You know who had a good Monday night? The bros who sat behind me at the Entourage screening. Oh boy, they had the time of their bro-y lives! Likes pigs in shit, those bros. ALEX FALCONEIllustrat   More
 
Wednesday, June 3, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

Love & Mercy

God only knows what happened to Brian Wilson.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Brian Wilson’s mental breakdown in the mid-1960s is as essential to the Beach Boys mythos as the band’s Pendleton shirts and woodies. Two TV movies and a Barenaked Ladies song told the sto   More
 
Wednesday, June 3, 2015 NATHAN CARSON

0|1
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close