Wetlands

Not, despite its title, a nature documentary.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Remember that bathroom in Trainspotting? The one with its floor flooded with standing water and a toilet seat smeared with decades of accumulated excrement? A lavatory in the opening scene of    More
 
Wednesday, September 17, 2014 REBECCA JACOBSON

Love Is Strange

More beautiful than bizarre.


Movie Reviews & Stories
At one point in Love Is Strange, the film’s central couple, Ben and George, reunite after days of separation. George (Alfred Molina) collapses into his partner’s arms and sobs silently, wh   More
 
Wednesday, September 10, 2014 BLAIR STENVICK

The Identical

False idols.


Movie Reviews & Stories
What if Elvis Presley’s brother had lived? What if, wracked by desperate poverty, his parents only pretended to bury the stillborn twin and instead allowed a traveling preacher and his loving    More
 
Wednesday, September 3, 2014 JAY HORTON

The Last of Robin Hood

Teenage dream.


Movie Reviews & Stories
As a real-life Lolita story, The Last of Robin Hood should be oozing with intrigue. Instead, this film about the final two years of Errol Flynn—who played the titular swashbuckler in 1938—and    More
 
Wednesday, September 3, 2014 REBECCA JACOBSON

A Most Wanted Man

The spy who bored me.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Had it been released a year ago, nobody would have taken notice of A Most Wanted Man, a gratingly bland espionage thriller set in post-9/11 Hamburg. But director Anton Corbijn’s thriller happens   More
 
Wednesday, July 23, 2014 AP KRYZA

Movie Review: The Trip to Italy

On the road again.


Movie Reviews & Stories
The phrase “it is what it is” is a plague on the English language. But in the case of The Trip to Italy, a sequel to 2010’s The Trip, the intrinsic nature of the film—established by its pr   More
 
Wednesday, August 27, 2014 MATTHEW SINGER

Movie Review: Frank

The head and the heart.


Movie Reviews & Stories
At first glance, Frank seems like twee hipster bait. It’s about a struggling songwriter. Tweets flash onscreen like in a millennial episode of Pop-Up Video. It treats Austin—and specifically S   More
 
Wednesday, August 27, 2014 AP KRYZA

The One I Love

Hit the reset button.


Movie Reviews & Stories
The One I Love is the sort of film that prompts critics to fill their reviews with warnings of spoilers and hammy pronouncements that “to reveal more would spoil the fun.” That overstates    More
 
Wednesday, August 20, 2014 REBECCA JACOBSON

Movie Review: Portland Director Aaron Katz's Land Ho!

Land Ho! spots a new brand of comedy on Aaron Katz’s horizon.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Aaron Katz has come a long way since his last film, 2010’s cutesy mystery Cold Weather. For Land Ho!, the Portland-born Katz and co-director Martha Stephens travel to Iceland, where two geezers    More
 
Wednesday, August 13, 2014 MITCH LILLIE

Movie Review: What If

When Harry met Chantry.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Love makes heavy demands of young Torontonians. First, Michael Cera had to battle his girlfriend’s evil exes in Scott Pilgrim vs. the World. Now in What If, Daniel Radcliffe faces a potentially    More
 
Wednesday, August 13, 2014 CURTIS WOLOSCHUK

0|1
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close